Can I use/refer to newspaper headlines in my open-licensed course?

Kia ora, namaste, bula all

1st post to OERu community so a little unsure as to whether I should have created a topic or posted within an existing topic.

I have a colleague who’s building a course which she’d like to license CC BY SA.
She’s inserted screenshots and hyperlinks to (Covid-19) headlines from major newspapers (definitely copyrighted).

Can she simply state in the license that except where copyrighted, the overall course is openly licensed, or does she have to contact all those media organizations to ask for permission?

How much of copyright fair use comes across to open licensing?

Look forward to comments.

Thanks,
Abel

1 Like

Please note that I am not a copyright lawyer - but I can share some general principles. If you are uncertain about your particlar use case, I would recommend that you obtain legal advice from a professional.

Not a problem - Creating a new topic is fine. I’ve added the OERu category to your topic.

Taking screenshots of newspaper pages with their headlines is protected by copyright, and therefore your would require permissions from the copyright holder for your particular use case.

There are multiple issues to consider:

1. Creative Commons licenses do not remove copyright. It is a license which provides specified permissions under the provisions of copyright - so it is incorrect to say “except where copyrighted” because the copyright of a CC License is owned by the copyright holder.